I have notifications on when someone joins and maybe 75% of the time after I see the notification their account is "deleted" because they changed the privacy settings.
It's not the end of the world but I do wish more people wouldn't automatically pick the maximum privacy setting so that we could actually, yknow use it
Not really, it's still encrypted. If you're not a political dissident and just using Signal to chat with friends then it is helpful to make yourself available to said friends.