this post was submitted on 19 Jun 2026
22 points (100.0% liked)
Technology
87575 readers
3754 users here now
This is a most excellent place for technology news and articles.
Our Rules
- Follow the lemmy.world rules.
- Only tech related news or articles.
- Be excellent to each other!
- Mod approved content bots can post up to 10 articles per day.
- Threads asking for personal tech support may be deleted.
- Politics threads may be removed.
- No memes allowed as posts, OK to post as comments.
- Only approved bots from the list below, this includes using AI responses and summaries. To ask if your bot can be added please contact a mod.
- Check for duplicates before posting, duplicates may be removed
- Accounts 7 days and younger will have their posts automatically removed.
Approved Bots
founded 3 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
view the rest of the comments
Clickbait and misleading. Nothing “broke”. The recycling bin works just fine, the name of the file in the confirm delete popup is just displayed wrong.
It isn't the details or severity of the break that matters.
It's that the quality control process is SUPPOSED to catch that, and whatever sorry excuse for a process they're using now ALLOWED a break that was obvious, visible, and repeatable, inside a critical, core function of the operating system, to make it to the end users, something that should trigger as an immediate, flashing warning light. That means the entire quality control process at the very least is SEVERELY compromised and unreliable, and there could very easily be MUCH more severe vulnerabilities and bugs hiding underneath that AREN'T immediately visible. To anyone who has done any professional development for non-disposable code bases, this isn't a whisper of a problem - it's an air horn.
Lol, yeah that's definitely broken
What exactly is “broken” about the recycling bin because of this?
Does the recycling bin still work?
Does the right file get deleted?
You’ve got a strange definition of broken.
I literally do not know because the dialog box might be wrong
The answer is yes. It does.
Well I hope you're right, otherwise the wrong file will be gone forever.
Seems to be only one way to find out as well.
it defeats the purpose of a confirm dialogue if it doesn't correctly tell you what you're confirming...
No it doesn’t. You still have to click delete on the file that you want to delete. Confirm boxes don’t even need to show the name of the file you’re deleting, just confirm if you want to delete it. When you empty the recycle bin it doesn’t ask you if you’re sure you’d like to delete x, y, and z file names, for example.
If I want to permanently delete a specific file from the recycle bin?