Sure. If you actively turn it on, and all involved know it's on. But this is always active as far as I'm aware.
I'm guessing it'll be toggle off, and it'll toggle itself back on every update.
In other words, they're taking your data for their use all the time, and sometimes they'll share your data with you.
The beer bottle for our beetle brains. These beautiful bots bemusing these bewildered boomers don't exist.